Community Foundation of Sarasota County Welcomes New Board Members, Appoints New Officers

Categories: Board of Directors,

SARASOTA, FL—The Community Foundation of Sarasota County has appointed new members and elected new officers to its Board of Directors, which guides, oversees, and cultivates the organization’s strategic planning and operations.

Nelle Miller, co-founder of BizTank, will serve as Chair, with Daniel DeLeo, a partner with Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, assuming the role of Vice Chair. Outgoing chair Richard Gans, shareholder with Fergeson Skipper, will serve as Treasurer, and William M. Seider, partner with Williams Parker Harrison Dietz & Getzen, continuing as Secretary.

Joining the Board for three-year terms are Lynn Wentworth, retired financial executive currently serving as director on three public company boards and past board member of the Board of Visitors at Emory University and The Community Foundation of Greater Atlanta, and Matthew Sauer, Executive Editor and General Manager of the Sarasota Herald-Tribune.

Wentworth holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Babson College, a master’s degree in taxation from Bentley College, and an executive MBA from Georgia State University. After spending much of her career with BellSouth Corporation in various executive roles, Wentworth retired from full-time employment in 2008 after serving as a SVP, CFO, and Treasurer of BlueLinx Holding. She currently serves as a member of the Community Foundation of Sarasota County’s Investment Committee.

Sauer, who this year had fulfilled the term of former board member Patrick Dorsey, has been a resident of Southwest Florida for 44 years, spending the last 26 at local newspapers in various editing and reporting roles. Sauer was Editor-in-Chief of The Independent Florida Alligator student newspaper at the University of Florida and VP of parent Campus Communications Inc. Sauer holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Florida and has completed all coursework toward a master’s degree in mass communication.

Continuing their duties as board members are C.J. Fishman, Paul Hudson, Donna Koffman, Rodney Linford, Kelvin Lumpkin, Jeffrey McCurdy, Michael R. Pender, Jr., Richard Smith, Drayton Saunders, Felice Schulaner, Andrew Stultz, Marilyn Thompson, Terri Vitale, Mary Lou Winnick, and Ronald Skipper Esq. DeLeo, Thompson, and Winnick were all reappointed for another three-year term.


About the Community Foundation of Sarasota County: The Community Foundation of Sarasota County is a public charity founded in 1979 by the Southwest Florida Estate Planning Council as a resource for caring individuals and the causes they support, enabling them to make a charitable impact on the community. With assets of over $398 million in more than 1,400 charitable funds, the Community Foundation awarded grants and scholarships totaling $34 million dollars last year in the areas of education, the arts, health and human services, civic engagement, animal welfare and the environment. For more information, visit or call (941) 955-3000.