Special Interest Scholarships

The Fast Track Scholarship

The Community Foundation of Sarasota County's newest Scholarship fund.  This Scholarship is for nontraditional students who are permanent residents of Sarasota County and who are enrolled in either the Sarasota County Technical Institute or the Manatee Technical Institute to pursue training to become a Certified Nursing Assistant
Download Application Here.

The Florida Association of Destination Marketing Organizations Scholarship Fund (FADMO)The Florida Association of Destination Marketing Organizations, through the Community Foundation of Sarasota County, is pleased to offer the Dave Warren Scholarship Fund. This exciting scholarship opportunity is available to college juniors who plan to make a career in the hospitality industry within the State of Florida. Selection criteria includes the personal goals of the student, financial need and community involvement. Receive money for school and recognition of the award at the Governor’s Conference on Tourism.  [Application deadline has passed]

The Kerry Heaney Memorial Scholarship Fund

This opportunity is for students who live within the specific area that the Nokomis Volunteer Fire Department services or for students who volunteer with the Nokomis Volunteer Fire Department. Applicants will be judged on their financial need and their commitment to becoming a firefighter.  [Application deadline has passed]

The Greenspoon Marder Diversity Scholarship Program for Law Students

This scholarship is for applicants who will be categorized as a second-year law student when beginning school in the Fall of 2015.  Students must be studying at one of the following law schools: The University of Florida Levin College of Law, Florida State University College of Law, the Florida A & M University College of Law, Stetson University College of Law, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad Law Center, St. Thomas University School of Law, Florida Coastal School of Law, Florida International University College of Law, or Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law.  The scholarship will be awarded in the Spring of 2015 for Fall 2015 disbursement in the amount of $2,500.  The scholarship award may be renewable for an additional semester, resulting in financial assistance totaling $5,000 during his or her time in law school.  [Application deadline has passed]

Morton Culinary Education Fund
The Morton Culinary Fund was started in 2010 for the purpose of awarding scholarships to Sarasota County high school graduates who are pursuing a career in the culinary or hospitality field. Scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement and a passion for the food industry, and can be used at accredited institutions with formal culinary or hospitality programs. This is a four-year, renewable scholarship.  [Application deadline has passed]

The Sarasota Architectural Foundation - Paul Rudolph Scholarship
This Scholarship opportunity is available to graduates or those about to graduate from a Sarasota or Manatee County (Florida) public high school. Applicants must be entering or be enrolled in a NAAB-accredited professional program in architecture. Students are selected based on financial need and must have a 3.5 minimum GPA. Preference is given to those who demonstrate academic excellence and outstanding design talent. A $1,000 award will be granted to a graduating high school senior, and $5,000 award will be granted to a student currently enrolled in an NAAB-accredited architecture program.  Please visit www.saf-srq.org to find out more about The Sarasota Architectural Foundation.  [Application deadline has passed]

The Sarasota County Bar Association Diversity Scholarship

This scholarship is intended to provide an opportunity for first through third year law students of under-represented minority backgrounds (e.g. race, color, religion, national origin, ethnicity, age, gender, sexual orientation, physical disability, or socioeconomic background), who have an interest in practicing law in Sarasota County. The summer application is available for 2L and 3L law students only.  Download Application Here.  [Available until August 15]

The Edward Town & Steven Rubin Theatre and Performing Arts Scholarship

This scholarship is for students from Sarasota or Manatee counties who wish to pursue a professional career in theatre, musical theatre, or dance. Applicants will be selected based on financial need and demonstrated achievement and commitment to the performing/technical arts as a career.  [Application deadline has passed]